Double Jaw Surgery; 1 Year Post-Op

Time works in weird and wonderful ways. Since the age of 13 I’ve endured countless appointments all in pursuit of the perfect bite. At times, I honestly believed that my surgery wouldn’t happen and I would be stuck with metal fixtures on my teeth forever. I’m now 1 year post Double Jaw Surgery and 3 months post Genioplasty and I’m starting to get a bit emotional about it all coming to an end. Crazy right.

This last year I have mourned two faces. The face I’ve had for 24 years, the face that saw me through so much. But now when I look back at pictures, that face is almost unrecognisable; all I see is excessive amounts of gum.

11232999_10152859686911326_9090588534445040132_n

My newly constructed face never really stood a chance though and just as I warmed up to the new face, back under I went for Genioplasty. This face never fully recovered from the perils of jaw surgery but still showed traces of the old face. Although my time with this face was short lived looking back at these photos is truly upsetting.

dav

I struggle with the thought that this is the hardest thing I’ve ever done and it’s just being forgotten about. It’s been a bittersweet process and as hospital appointments are becoming few and far between, the reality that it will be over is a thought I simply can’t bare. With just one year left of retainer checks, I’ll soon be discharged and sent on my merry little way and the people who have cared for my teeth for so long will just be a mere memory. This is strangely upsetting. It’s another loss altogether because they get why I needed jaw surgery and they made it happen. They changed my life and thats a pretty big deal.

How do you thank someone for changing your life?

“The words I’m about to write aren’t enough to tell you both how thankful I am for what you’ve done for me over the years. I remember when I was told all those years ago I needed jaw surgery, I honestly didn’t think I would be where I am now. Nor could I have imagined the results. 

I can finally bite into a sandwich without all of the filling falling out. I don’t feel embarrassed when I eat out in public anymore because my new bite doesn’t let me down. 

This long journey is coming to an end, I can’t quite imagine my life without trips to orthodontics. It’s been a massive part of my life and I can’t thank you enough for the hard work and planning  you have done. You’ve changed my life and I can’t stop smiling its perfect.”

– This little note with some sweet treat seemed to do the trick. Just a little token for the team that made all this happen.

To be able to appreciate this process @darryldoes helped me document the journey to a better jaw. One year later I’m writing a blog in awe of everything that has changed and how surprisingly well I handled it all. Here’s a little reminder of how far I’ve come.

3 months post Genioplasty seems to have just flown by. After the initial shock of removing the cast to revealing my newly shaped chin I have finally come to love what my surgeons have been planning all these years. It was the icing on the cake, it finished my face and once all the swelling had finally subsided, I looked like me again!

All my feeling has returned, occasionally I get strange flutters across my chin but I embrace those as a reminder of what happened. Recently I get aches in my jaw where the plates are but I think these pains are more stress related but something I’ll be monitoring  just incase. I get a strange feeling if I poke my chin which shoots a pain up my one tooth but the moral of that story is just don’t poke that spot. All in all its been one hell of a rollercoaster as my nearest and dearest will tell you.

 

1 Year on and this is my face. Now can someone please tell me how to stop it ageing? Cue my next chapter…

Writing these posts has been a great form of therapy where I could explain my feelings and help those going through a similar thing. Your face is the first thing anyone sees, and to have no control of the final outcome is completely terrifying. I had these surgeries because I had a severe over-bite which meant I couldn’t eat properly and would later cause problems like arthritis and gum disease. It’s a complete bonus, I look better for it but I still scrutinise my appearance; after all we are our own worst critics. This surgery has changed my life I don’t think anyone will understand how much this means to me.

💁🏼💁🏼💁🏼💁🏼💁🏼

_DSC4584

3 thoughts on “Double Jaw Surgery; 1 Year Post-Op

  1. You’re absolutely beautiful!! I’m sitting here sobbing from reading your post. Thank you! I’m 9 months post-op from double jaw surgery, genioplasty, and cheek augmentation (all done in one surgery) and saw my jaw surgeon for the last time today for final pictures and have been struggling with the bittersweet loss of appointments and the friendships I’ve made with all the people who understand the entire struggle. I’m so glad you’re happy with the outcome and have made it through this crazy journey!

    • Lauren your to kind. Wow you’ve been through quiet a lot in one go haven’t you. It’s hard isn’t it, the whole process becomes your life. You go to many appointments, explain the process to loved ones and then suddenly it’s over and to be forgotten. That makes me sad because it was and still is a massive part of my life. It’s not defined me but it’s made me stronger for going through this. I’m super happy and I hope you are to 💖

Leave a Reply

