The Sound of 2016.

January’s playlist is quickly growing, it already includes the sensational ‘Say Something Loving’ from The XX and the stunning new single from London Grammar. We’re only 8 days in to 2017 and it’s already sounds like a good one. I find myself still obsessing over tracks from last year though, so let me share my 2016 music highlights, including my ones to watch in 2017.

2015 saw me draw my top 5 favourite singles of the year, but this year I’ve been obsessed with so much that I just can’t narrow it down. Here are my top 10 tracks from 2016;

Glass Animals – Youth
James Vincent McMorrow – Get Low
Jamie T – Power Over Men
The Last Shadow Puppets – Miracle Alinger
Blossoms – Honey Sweet
Honne ft Izzy Bizu – Someone That Love You
James Blake, Bon Iver – I Need A Forest Fire
Slaves – Spit It Out
Låpsley – Cliff
Mystery Jets – Bubblegum

This list could have easily gone on but these are the tracks which stood out to me in 2016. James Blake and Bon Iver kept me calm whilst I was alone in hospital and Glass Animals silky smooth beats ignited summer putting that spring back into my step.

If I’m honest, during 2016 I wasn’t deeply hooked on any albums; I fell into the trap of playlist building and not really delving into the LP. The albums that I did enjoy though, and maybe over played a little this year, were:

The Last Shadow Puppets – Everything That You’ve Come To Expect
Blossoms – Blossoms
James Vincent McMorrow – We Move
Bon Iver – 22, A Million
Billie Marten – Writing of Blues and Yellows

I’m usually a gigaholic but this year I’ve only been to 9 gigs and 1 festival, it’s criminal. Although this is extremely out of character for me there just hasn’t been many gigs this year. That and the fact I was recovering from Double Jaw Surgery, so probably not a good idea to be hanging around a mosh pit during this first couple months of recovery. Here are the top 5 live shows I did manage to see:

The Last Shadow Puppets – Sheffield, City Hall
The National –  Obelisk Stage, Latitude Festival
The Maccabees – Obelisk Stage, Latitude Festival
Blossoms – Coventry, Kasbah
James Vincent McMorrow – Manchester, Albert Hall

Ending on the acts I’m excited to hear more from this year, some might say ones to watch.

Declan McKenna
Kagoule
INHEAVEN
Jorja Smith
Cabbage
Honeyblood

I make monthly playlists so follow me through 2017 to find out what I’m hooked on.

Leave a Reply

