Double Jaw Surgery – Week 6

Although this operation is now becoming a distant memory the recovery itself has slowed right down. The bottom half of my face is still swollen and is gradually reducing in size. Yay no more fat face. During the last two weeks not a lot has changed, my energy levels are not exactly soaring these days, but these things take time.

Brushing my teeth has never been exciting but last week I finally moved up a toothbrush grade woohoo, no more baby brush for me. Moving up from a babies toothbrush to a Childs brush felt great, I finally feel like I am actually cleaning my teeth. Hopefully it wont be long before I’m back to a normal toothbrush.

You know that feeling when someone tickles you when you’re completely unaware, making you shudder, freaking you out a little bit. Well thats how I feel when I brush my lower teeth. It’s an absolutely horrendous sensation and I can’t wait for this feeling to pass. Although this is clearly a good sign as it means the feeling is returning to my chin and lip. It just freaks me out so much, I dread brushing my teeth at the moment.

13548794_10154327659439704_1434824121_o

Pain hasn’t really changed, I’m still experiencing shooting pains and discomfort after talking for long periods of time, yawing, sneezing and teeth chattering from the cold weather. At my last appointment I was assured this is all part of the healing process.

I really want to be able to say that eating has been something that has improved over the last two weeks, but honestly its no different. Although the selection of food I can have has become wider, I am still blending most of my meals because chewing just doesn’t feel natural. When blitzing my meals together I try not to blend it until smooth, but instead leave it quite chunky so some chewing is needed. I miss real food.

My energy has not yet returned. Last week I attempted a trip to Birmingham, I managed 40mins of wandering around before I needed a long sit down and a Peanut Butter Milkshake. After a little rest I managed another hour before needing to conserve some energy again. I’ve been trying to push my body more over the last two weeks to get back to some normality, this usually results in a rest day afterwards.

Hospital appointments have returned to my usual 6 weekly check-ups, as my Orthodontist and Surgeon were both happy with how things are looking. The elastic bands are back in my life after one short week off. Now I wear to elastics at night to hold my bite in place to reduce the risk of movement in my jaw.

Day 36.


Day 38.


Day 44.


Day 46.

 

Like I said earlier, changes in my face have slowed right down. It can take as long as two years for my face to completely re-hang while my muscles get use to their new position. I’ve been doing some jaw exercises to encourage the muscles to move. My favourite one being; a big cheesy grin into a puckered pout.

The thing I’m struggling with most is that I do look physically better, and in my head I feel like I can chow down on giant burger, but the reality is that my body is still preventing me from those things. I am not physically capable of the things I think I am, and that in itself is torture.

Here is Day 11 – Day 46.
A dramatic change to remind myself how far I have come.

Why has my skin gotten so bad?

9 thoughts on “Double Jaw Surgery – Week 6

  1. Hi! I am in the same situation like you, I had double jaw surgery about 4 weeks ago. Do you take same vitamins for energy? I take multivitamin and also I apply hot gel pack for swelling. After surgery I took Vianex Tonotil Plus Ampoules and also vitamin C for bruising. Hope my advice can help you!

    • Hiya, how are you feeling after your surgery? I have started taking an Iron supplement but nothing like a multi vitamin, will give that ago thanks.

      • I feel very good now that I don’ t have rubber bands :), I have no pain, but I am pretty numb in my chin. I can breathe better after surgery, my profile has improved, but I still have swollen cheeks. I also took Iron supplement, but also multivitamin that contain the B vitamin complex, which is very good for facial nerve damage. I wish you quick recovery!

  2. My skin was also quite bad after surgery; I think it has a lot to do with the steroids and painkillers they use during and after the operation! Almost two years out now — I promise you the worst has passed 😊

      • 100% yes. It needed to be done and now that all my dental work is done I can see the total value of it all. My bite is so much better, my teeth are not crumbling any more, and I have so much more confidence. If you ever wanna chat surgery don’t hesitate to hit me up :). Also, I got your July 2016 playlist on Spotify and it’s amazing! Love your taste!

      • That’s amazing. I can’t wait to be all done and dusted. I always find it so interesting talking to people who have had the surgery. I don’t think many people understand what we go through. Awww have you, I do monthly playlists August 2016 is gonna be gonna be a banger. Watch this space.

      • I absolutely will 🙂 I found it really interesting and helpful for me in recovery to reach out to others who have gone through the surgery, and turns out I’m still doing it two years on, ha! It’s a lonely, isolating thing if you let it be, but you’re definitely not the only one. I remember being so frustrated with the swelling, with all the changes, and with trying to constantly adjust to a new face. I wrote about it here if you’re interested: http://www.xojane.com/it-happened-to-me/double-jaw-surgery-before-and-after-recovery

        And I can’t wait for August’s list. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Double Jaw Surgery; 3 Months Post-Op | Hansays_

Leave a Reply

