Journey To A Better Jaw.

It all started when I was 13, when I was told that simple train track would aline my teeth but not my jaw. After 11 years of endless consultancies, x-rays, moulds, brace tightenings, a quad helix to expand my top palette and the removal of 3 stubborn wisdom teeth; finally there is light at the end of the tunnel. My jaw is finally ready and on May 16th I’ll be having my double jaw surgery and possible chin implant. I don’t know if I’m happy or scared but soon I’ll be able to put this all behind me and move on with my life.

At 13 years old I was told I would need corrective jaw surgery to fix my ‘abnormal’ overbite but first my face and jaw had to finish growing before my brace work could start. Finally in 2011 at the age of 19 I had train tracks fitted and that was an experience in itself. Lets just say my Orthodontist had a good look at what I had for breakfast that morning. Sorry.

June 2011

As you can see here my teeth weren’t beautifully alined and my top palette was significantly narrower compared to my bottom set of teeth. My molars didn’t even bite together here.

Above are some photos of my teeth after 4 months of braces, where you can see an improvement in the straightness of my teeth but I still had a long way to go.

Things seemed to be going well, until my Orthodontist told me he was retiring. This was just before I was due to have my Quad Helix Arch Expander fitted. During my next appointment I was meant to have the Quad Helix fitted but the locum Orthodontist had other ideas which further delayed my journey to a new jaw. Eventually in October 2013 the Quad Helix was fitted and I drifted in and out of countless appointments. This is when I started to think my surgery would never happen. Hence why I stopped taking photos of the progress.

Photo on 19-01-2015 at 14.06 2

Towards the latter part of 2014, New Cross appointed a new Orthodontist and hope was restored. My new Orthodontist knew exactly what he wanted to do and in the time frame he wanted to do it; but first he had to undo some of locum’s work, again delaying the procedure. I started to feel really positive about my brace work especially when he would talk through what he was doing and his plans for the next couple of visits. The next big thing was to remove the Quad Helix which had over stayed its welcome, followed by the removal of my impacted wisdom teeth, which meant I had to undergo my first Maxillofacial surgery.

 

I’ve never had to be put to sleep before, so in having my wisdom teeth removed it has actually prepared me for my surgery because now I know what kind of thing to expect. It wont stop me crying my eyes out on the anaesthesia table again.

Now I’m at the countdown stage. It’s just under 4 weeks until my Pre- op and 5 weeks till the surgery itself. At the moment my biggest worry is being confined to my bed and being bored out my mind during the recovery and not making an appearance at a festival this year. Talk about priorities.

Here are the latest images of my teeth.

I’ll keep you updated over the coming months. There is light at the end of the tunnel.
Any tips for a liquid diet?

 

Leave a Reply

