Songs to Love and Die By

“I don’t want to be, anything other than what I’ve been trying to be lately” Is famously know for the opening credits to the hit American TV show One Tree Hill.

I remember watching this show when it first aired back in 2003, living vicariously through the fictional town of Tree Hill. I’ve recently found myself revisiting the show bingeing my way through its nine seasons, but why? Maybe it started off because it’s a great series with strong relatable messages; but as the story unfolds I found myself doing a little bit of soul searching.

I often find myself stepping into Peyton Sawyer’s knackered Converse, not for emotional reason but because music is a major part of her life. She turns to music in her darkest days like we all do and has has a deep connection to medium, just look at her vinyl collection; it’s something I can only dream off. One Tree Hill is very aware of music throughout the show, finding the perfect soundtrack for every moment.

As I re-watch, with the tragic news of Bowie’s death in mind, I begin to think of the greats and to be honest I don’t really listen to any of these musical icons. I’m so focused on whats new and up-coming that I have no idea about that past and how we’ve gotten here. Don’t get me wrong I know how important the likes of: The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix and The Rolling Stone’s are to the history of music.They have inspired many, yet I still haven’t given one of their albums the time of day.

So earlier this month I wrote a blog about what I wanted to achieve this year.(2016 Goals) It seems that bingeing on One Tree Hill has made me want to correct my ignorance, they’re called the greats for a reason so lets see what all the fuss is about.

Goal number 4 is to dip into the past and resurrect the albums which are said to have shaped music as we know it.

Any suggestions where to start.

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 17.53.39

Leave a Reply

