10 Years, Whatever.

Whatever

It’s been 10 years since the first Arctic Monkeys record, ‘Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not’ and look how far they’ve come. If I were to order the discography now this would certainly be the bottom of the pile. But nevertheless these old favourites have stood the test of time and are the at very heart of any Arctic Monkey’s gig.

I was 13 when this album came out, when music started to matter to me. I no longer wanted to listen to my parents old throwbacks to the good old days nor continue to listen to the likes of Britney Spears. I wanted to find my own musical taste and then ‘I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor’ came out. It didn’t matter who you were in the school, you liked that track!

This album ignited my love for indie rock and roll and here I am 10 years on listening to this scrappy record reminiscing the magical start of Arctic Monkeys. Here are my favourite 3 tracks of the debut.

Everything about A Certain Romance is still brilliant. I still crave this to be played at their gigs and when the boys do it really is magic. It was the first track on the album I fell in love with, the ultimate throwback to a time where everything could be fixed with a light hearted indie love song.

Not only was ‘When The Sun Goes Down’  a tune at the school disco but a fonder love grew for this track during my late teens. Aided by alcohol this track has the capability to turn a good night into a great one.

“Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not” is full of great tracks, tracks which started Arctic Monkey’s, and of course I love the likes of ‘Mardy Bum’ and ‘I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor’  but for me ‘Dancing Shoes’  just does it.

So get on your dancing shoes, party till the sun goes down and find that certain romance.

Leave a comment