Latitude Round Up.

Happy Birthday Latitude and boy, was it a year to remember.

I painted my lips green for poverty. Took part in a video to help children learn the English Language. I also wrote a way better introduction to this blog as I staggered out of the BBC 6 Tent after a truly phenomenal set from The Vaccines.

Latitude continues to impress me every year, it really can be the festival you desire it to be. Although I’m open to dabble in the other arenas like; Comedy, Poetry and Literature, I can’t help but indulge mainly in music. It caters for all generations and genres with The Alcove stage dedicating itself to emerging talent.

So what made the 10th anniversary worth sitting in over 5 hours of traffic for?

After sitting through 3 Radio 1 shows, demolishing a crate of Rekorderlig and stumbling to get our wrist bands, it was time to put up the tent. In the dark. 5 mozzarella sticks and a taco was all that was needed to make this day better. Yes on the first night I braved Mexican, bad move? No, they were the best mozzarella sticks I’ve ever had.

With it being the 10th anniversary Latitude had pulled out all the stops with more stages, a Solas area devoted to relaxation and above all an updated branding with a stunning new Obelisk stage. At first I missed the paper daisies, but it wasn’t long until i embraced their sleek new look; the perfect outfit for their birthday party.

As much as I love ALT-J  I can’t help but think something was lacking from the headliners on Friday night. Although their set was technically solid and soared with ‘Left hand Free,’ Matilda’ and ‘Breezeblocks’ the rest of the set filled with those beautiful yet forgettable tracks. This isn’t a bad thing you can continue to sip on your cider in admiration, but for the headlining act on the first night I was left craving more.

Blossoms were undoubtedly one of the highlights of the weekend they blew me away and not just with single ‘Blow’ but once the set ended I was left wanting more. The Stockport band are the perfect blend of Indie, pop and psychedelia with just the right amount of nostalgia lingering in the hooks. Blossoms are definitely one to watch for the duration of 2015 with big things to come next year.

People fled from every inch of the park, packing into the BBC 6 Tent to catch a glimpse Catfish and the Bottlemen. Their set was a non-stop party, showcasing the best tracks from ‘The Balcony.’ ‘Tyrants’ was a poignant moment of the whole weekend, where Van McCann and the boys proved their worth. Another album under their belt I’m sure they will be on the fast track to headlining.

It took until 18:05 on Sunday evening to shake my hangover and all it took was a good dance from Years and Years. They are the Alcove’s biggest success story, jumping up the bill to the BBC 6 stage within the year. I had heard mixed reviews about them live and to be honest I have no idea why anyone would doubt them. The Sunday set was clearly the unofficial birthday party to celebrate 10 years of Latitude as Olly Alexander just didn’t stop dancing.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds closed Latitude 2015 and it was the perfect way to close the festival. Gallagher played a medley of Oasis tracks, amongst High Flying Bird material and he even dabbled in comedy, daring an audience member to buy all of his merch, even the “shitty girls T-shirts.” Arms in the air, pints to the sky, Don’t Look Back In Anger closed the set, this beautiful yet simple song carries so much weight and love it should be a national treasure.

Was the traffic it worth it?

Well it’s true what they say; all good things come to those who wait and to just roam around the haven that is Latitude once again was enough for me.

Latitude you make me feel at home, deliver excellent new music and each year I fall deeper and deep into your spell. I’ll see you next year and hopefully I won’t be stuck in traffic for so long.

Heres to another 10 years.

Honourable mentions:

Good and Proper Tea taught me I don’t just have to have butter on a crumpet.

The sheep aren’t multi coloured anymore, maybe each year the colour will change. 

Does anyone actually know how many times Ed Sheeran performed? 

The guy in the orange suit and top hat dancing like a backing dancer for Lianne La Havas.

Kindness handing out fortune cookies to the crowd. 

Thom Yorke joining Portishead during their headline set.

Leave a Reply

